junges Mädchen mit psychischer Störung - vorgestelltes Bild

6 Möglichkeiten zur Beseitigung von Stigmatisierungen im Zusammenhang mit psychischen Gesundheitsproblemen

Psychische Gesundheitsprobleme sind ebenso häufig und gefährlich wie körperliche Probleme. Deshalb müssen auch psychische Erkrankungen behandelt werden, Management, und Aufmerksamkeit, ähnlich wie bei körperlichen Herausforderungen. But lack of awareness surrounding psychological health and illnesses is a significant hindrance.

Eines der häufigsten Probleme ist, dass Menschen psychische Probleme nicht einmal verstehen oder erkennen. Sie können sich in körperlich kranke Patienten einfühlen und ihre Besorgnis offener nachvollziehen. But mental health illness patients do not receive a similar acknowledgment.

Such patients experience stigmatization for their challenges rather than acceptance.

Daher, Das Bewusstsein für psychische Gesundheitsprobleme ist notwendig, um Missverständnisse und Schuldzuweisungen zu beseitigen. Und niemand kann es besser als Menschen mit Erfahrung und Wissen, wie Mitarbeiter im Gesundheitswesen, Patienten mit psychischer Gesundheit, Überlebende, and attendants.

Ihre Stimme ist wichtig und Ihr Bemühen kann die Wahrnehmung über Bevölkerungsgruppen und Generationen hinweg verändern. Deshalb, die Initiative ergreifen, komm nach vorne, und das Bewusstsein für psychische Gesundheitsprobleme zu schärfen.

In den folgenden Abschnitten werden Strategien diskutiert, um psychischen Stigmata zu begegnen, damit psychisch kranke Patienten nicht hilflos leiden müssen.

1. Stellen Sie eine unparteiische Behandlung unabhängig von Gesundheitsproblemen sicher

Die Verfügbarkeit von psychiatrischen Einrichtungen und die Akzeptanz psychischer Gesundheitsprobleme sind grundlegende Schritte, um die benötigte Hilfe zu suchen. But mentally-ill patients do not receive quality care for their psychological challenges compared to their physical illnesses.

Und es beginnt mit ihrer ersten wertenden Begegnung mit den Angehörigen der Gesundheitsberufe. Implicit bias from healthcare workers causes the same damage to the psyche and emotions as negligence and stigmatization from the general population.

Aus diesem Grund konzentriert sich die Gesundheitserziehung auf die Ausbildung von Mitarbeitern mit multidisziplinärem Wissen, um ihnen zu helfen, soziokulturelle Komplexitäten zu verstehen und gleichzeitig auf Herausforderungen der psychischen Gesundheit einzugehen. Beispielsweise, RN-zu-BSN-Programm von WP vereint Know-how aus den Naturwissenschaften, Verhaltenswissenschaft, and humanities to educate nursing professionals.

Solche Programme ermöglichen es ihnen, kulturell und sozial sensible Missverständnisse in Bezug auf Gesundheitsthemen aufzudecken. Und sie lernen Strategien, um besser mit Patienten in Kontakt zu treten und unabhängig von zugrunde liegenden Gesundheitsproblemen eine unparteiische Versorgung zu gewährleisten.

2. Erkennen Sie psychische Gesundheitsprobleme an und schärfen Sie das Bewusstsein

Die allgemeine Bevölkerung verfügt über gründliches Wissen über körperliche Erkrankungen und deren Darstellung. Patienten bekommen dadurch mehr Raum und Akzeptanz. But people do not know much about psychological issues or their representations.

Da Anzeichen und Symptome von psychischen Erkrankungen gemeinsame Ähnlichkeiten mit alltäglichen Verhaltensweisen aufweisen, it is hard to categorize and comprehend them.

Beispielsweise, Menschen wissen nicht, ob Angst, Reizbarkeit, Angst, Traurigkeit, und Schuld sind auch Anzeichen für starke Krankheiten. Sie assoziieren Umstände mit Verhaltensweisen und Stimmungsschwankungen. Und sie glauben, dass bessere Bedingungen die Stimmung und das Verhalten eines jeden verändern und verbessern können. But that is not the case.

Damit, Bewusstsein ist notwendig, um die Wahrnehmung der Menschen zu ändern und ihnen zu helfen, zu unterscheiden, was gesund und abnormal ist. Und niemand kann die medizinische Versorgung bei psychischen Problemen besser fördern als die Mitarbeiter des Gesundheitswesens. Sie haben mehr Wissen und Verständnis in Bezug auf Fragen des Wohlbefindens als die allgemeine Bevölkerung. Daher, Sie können ihr Bewusstsein und ihre Stimmkraft einsetzen, um Menschen über die Komplexität psychischer Erkrankungen aufzuklären.

3. Entwirren Sie Missverständnisse über psychische Probleme

Das Aufdecken von Missverständnissen ist eine Möglichkeit, Menschen davon abzuhalten, psychische Erkrankungen oder psychisch kranke Patienten zu stigmatisieren. Beispielsweise, wenn jemand über ein psychisches Problem klagt, es bedeutet nicht, dass sie verrückt oder verrückt sind. Psychische Gesundheitsprobleme haben auch symptomatische Komplikationen. Und der Patient kann Anzeichen oder Symptome nur durch medizinische Hilfe regulieren, Therapie, oder Medikamente.

Patienten mit psychischen Erkrankungen erfahren auch Diskriminierung in ihrem sozioprofessionellen Umfeld. Sie erhalten subjektive Einstellungen zu ihren Herausforderungen im Gesundheitswesen, Unabhängig von anderen Risikofaktoren. People believe the viewpoints of patients with mental illness do not bear credibility anymore and consider them mentally unstable or insane.

Aber niemand wird lieber krank, ob es sich um eine körperliche oder seelische Krankheit handelt. Und das Leiden an einem bestimmten psychischen Gesundheitsproblem bedeutet nicht, dass sie es nicht rational verstehen können. Irrationales Denken, unberechenbares Verhalten, oder Stimmungsschwankungen sind einige der Symptome ihrer Krankheiten. Diese Symptome definieren keinen dauerhaften Geisteszustand.

4. Medizinische Hilfe und Ermutigung

Medizinische Hilfe bei psychischen Problemen ist ebenso wichtig wie bei körperlichen Erkrankungen. Außerdem, psychische Probleme können nicht automatisch heilen, egal wie viel man toleriert, ignoriert, oder verbirgt ihre Symptome. Ein verzögerter Zugang zu medizinischem Fachpersonal kann die Krankheit und die Symptome nur verkomplizieren. Wenn Einzelpersonen vermeiden, Hilfe zu erhalten, Psychische Gesundheitsprobleme erreichen fortgeschrittene Stadien, ähnlich wie körperliche. And chronic health issues can take longer to repair.

Manchmal, Eine bestimmte chronische Erkrankung verwandelt sich aufgrund verzögerter medizinischer Hilfe auch in mehrere Komplexitäten. Beispielsweise, Chronische und unbehandelte Depressionen können zu einer Beeinträchtigung der Gedankenverarbeitung und Halluzinationen führen, und dies sind auch die Symptome von Psychose. So, Ermutigen Sie die Menschen, sich um ihre Komplikationen zu kümmern und Hilfe zu suchen. Und auch, beobachte die Menschen um dich herum, einschließlich Ihrer Kollegen, Familienmitglieder, and friends.

Ermutigen Sie sie zu medizinischer Beratung, wenn Sie das Gefühl haben, dass sie unter psychischen Problemen leiden.

5. Assoziieren Sie keine psychischen Erkrankungen mit Patienten

Gesundheitsprobleme wählen keine Patienten mit bestimmten Merkmalen oder Hintergründen aus. Jeder kann jedes Gesundheitsproblem bekommen (körperlich oder geistig), unabhängig von Vorsicht und Stärke. But people have a subjective attitude toward patients with mental health issues than other illnesses.

Es ist üblich, Patienten nach ihren Krankheiten zu benennen, wie Verrückte, Psycho, psychisch gestört, und seltsam. But you do not know how these labels affect someone’s psychological and emotional state.

Psychisch krank zu sein bedeutet nicht, dass psychisch kranke Patienten nicht zwischen Gemeinheit und Freundlichkeit unterscheiden können. Sie machen sich bereits selbst Vorwürfe für ihren Zustand, and your prejudicial behaviors and labeling only worsen their conditions.

Damit, Denken Sie nach, bevor Sie sprechen, denn Ihre Worte haben Kraft, sowohl destruktiv als auch konstruktiv. Und Selbstkennzeichnung oder psychische Erkrankungen mit Themen in Verbindung zu bringen, hilft niemandem. Wenn Sie sagen können, ein Diabetiker oder Bluthochdruckpatient, warum nicht geduldig gegen Schizophrenie kämpfen, anstatt sie geistig zu nennen?

6. Behandle psychisch Kranke mit Mitgefühl

Mitgefühl spielt eine therapeutische Rolle für Patienten, die an Gesundheitsproblemen leiden. Und es ist auch ein Teil der Aus- und Weiterbildung von Gesundheitspersonal als überzeugendes Merkmal, um sich um Patienten mit psychischen Erkrankungen zu kümmern. Wenn Sie einen psychisch kranken Patienten empfangen, Engagieren Sie sie nicht in einer bestimmten Kategorie. Als Gesundheitsdienstleister, you have to treat every patient with dignity and respect.

Daher, do not criticize them for their condition or delay access to medical assistance.

Patienten erwarten eher Trost und Hoffnung von einem Heiler und Helfer als Kritik. Mitgefühl und eine menschliche Haltung zu zeigen, kostet nicht viel, aber Ihr freundliches Verhalten kann ihr Leiden minimieren. And the power of these intangible skills goes beyond an impulsive temporary interaction with a mentally-ill patient.

Ihre unvoreingenommene Haltung als Pfleger gibt ihnen das Gefühl, dass sie als Menschen und nicht als Verrückte verstanden und anerkannt werden.

Fazit

Gesundheitsversorgung sollte körperlich kranken Patienten nicht allein zur Verfügung stehen. Auch Patienten mit psychischen Problemen brauchen Hilfe, bevor ihr Zustand fortschreitet oder wenn sie nicht weiterdenken können, als sich selbst zu schaden. Und niemand verdient nachteilige Qual, unabhängig von ihren gesundheitlichen Herausforderungen. Daher, zum Bewusstsein für psychische Gesundheit beitragen und schutzbedürftigen Personen helfen, bevor es zu spät ist.

Nach oben scrollen

young girl having mental disorder - featured image

6 Ways to Eliminate Stigmas Surrounding Mental Health Challenges

Mental health issues are as frequent and dangerous as physical well-being challenges. That’s why mental health issues also require treatment, management, and attention, similar to physical challenges. But lack of awareness surrounding psychological health and illnesses is a significant hindrance. 

One of the most common problems is that people do not even understand or recognize mental health issues. They can empathize with physically ill patients and comprehend their apprehension more openly. But mental health illness patients do not receive a similar acknowledgment. 

Such patients experience stigmatization for their challenges rather than acceptance. 

Hence, awareness of mental health issues is necessary to eliminate misunderstandings and blame games. And no one can do it better than people with experience and knowledge, such as healthcare workers, mental health patients, survivors, and attendants. 

Your voice matters and your endeavor can change perceptions across populations and generations. Therefore, take the initiative, come forward, and raise awareness around mental health issues.

The following sections discuss strategies to confront mental illness stigmas so that psychologically-ill patients do not have to suffer helplessly.

1. Ensure Impartial Treatment Regardless Of Health Issues

Availability of mental healthcare facilities and the acceptance of mental health issues are fundamental steps to seeking needed assistance. But mentally-ill patients do not receive quality care for their psychological challenges compared to their physical illnesses. 

And it starts from their first judgmental encounter with the healthcare professionals. Implicit bias from healthcare workers causes the same damage to the psyche and emotions as negligence and stigmatization from the general population. 

That’s why healthcare education focuses on training workers with multidisciplinary knowledge to help them understand sociocultural complexities while catering to mental health challenges. For instance, WP’s RN to BSN program blends know-how from natural sciences, behavioral sciences, and humanities to educate nursing professionals. 

Such programs allow them to unearth culturally and socially sensitive misconceptions surrounding healthcare issues. And they learn strategies to better connect with patients and deliver impartial care regardless of underlying health issues.

2. Acknowledge Mental Health Issues And Raise Awareness

The general population has thorough know-how of physical illness and how they represent. That’s why patients receive more space and acceptance. But people do not know much about psychological issues or their representations. 

Since signs and symptoms of mental illnesses have common similarities with everyday life behaviors, it is hard to categorize and comprehend them. 

For instance, people do not know if fear, irritability, anxiousness, sadness, and guilt are also signs of potent illnesses. They associate circumstances with behaviors and mood fluctuations. And they believe better conditions can alter and improve anyone’s mood and behavior. But that is not the case. 

So, awareness is necessary to change people’s perceptions and help them differentiate what is healthy and abnormal. And no one can better promote healthcare assistance for psychological issues than the healthcare workers. They have more knowledge and understanding regarding well-being issues than the general population. Hence, they can use their awareness and voice power to educate people about the complexities of mental illnesses.

3. Untangle Misconceptions About Mental Issues

Unraveling misconceptions is one way to discourage people from stigmatizing mental illnesses or mentally ill patients. For instance, if someone complains of a mental health issue, it does not mean they are crazy or a lunatic. Mental health issues also have symptomatic complications. And the patient cannot regulate signs or symptoms except for medical assistance, therapy, or medication. 

Patients with mental illnesses also experience discrimination in their socio-professional circles. They receive subjective attitudes toward their healthcare challenges, regardless of other risk factors. People believe the viewpoints of patients with mental illness do not bear credibility anymore and consider them mentally unstable or insane. 

But no one prefers falling ill, whether it is a physical or psychological illness. And suffering from a particular mental health issue does not mean they cannot comprehend rationally. Irrational thinking, erratic behavior, or mood swings are some of the symptoms of their illnesses. These symptoms do not define a permanent state of their minds.

4. Medical Assistance And Encouragement

Medical assistance for mental health issues is as crucial as for physical illnesses. Besides, mental health issues cannot heal automatically no matter how much one tolerates, ignores, or hides their symptoms. Delayed access to healthcare experts can only complicate the illness and symptoms. If individuals avoid receiving assistance, mental health issues progress to advanced stages similar to physical ones. And chronic health issues can take longer to repair. 

Sometimes, a specific chronic condition also transforms into multiple complexities due to delayed medical assistance. For instance, chronic and untreated depression can lead to impaired thought-processing and hallucination, and these are also the symptoms of psychosis. Thus, encourage people to attend to their complications and seek assistance. And also, observe people around you, including your coworkers, family members, and friends. 

Encourage them for medical guidance if you sense they suffer from mental health challenges.

5. Do Not Associate Mental Illnesses With Patients

Healthcare issues do not choose patients with specific characteristics or backgrounds. Anyone can acquire any health issue (physical or mental), regardless of precaution and strength. But people have a subjective attitude toward patients with mental health issues than other illnesses. 

It is common for them to call patients by their diseases, such as lunatics, psycho, mentally disturbed, and weird. But you do not know how these labels affect someone’s psychological and emotional state. 

Being mentally ill does not mean mentally-ill patients cannot differentiate between meanness and kindness. They already blame themselves for their condition, and your prejudicial behaviors and labeling only worsen their conditions. 

So, think before speaking as your words carry power, both destructive and constructive. And self-labeling or associating mental illnesses with subjects does not help anyone. If you can say a diabetic patient or hypertensive patient, why not patient battling schizophrenia rather than calling them mental?

6. Treat Mental Health Patients With Compassion

Compassion plays a therapeutic role for patients suffering from any healthcare issues. And it is also a part of healthcare workers’ education and training as a convincing trait to cater to mental health patients. If you receive a mentally-ill patient, do not corner them in a specific category. As a healthcare provider, you have to treat every patient with dignity and respect. 

Hence, do not criticize them for their condition or delay access to medical assistance. 

Patients anticipate comfort and hope from a healer and helper rather than criticism. Showing compassion and a humane attitude does not cost much, but your kind behavior can minimize their suffering. And the power of these intangible skills goes beyond an impulsive temporary interaction with a mentally-ill patient. 

Your unbiased attitude as a care provider makes them feel they are understood and acknowledged as human beings rather than lunatics.

Conclusion

Healthcare assistance should not be at the disposal of physically-ill patients alone. Patients with psychological issues also need help before their condition advances or when they cannot think beyond harming themselves. And no one deserves prejudicial torment, regardless of their well-being challenges. Hence, contribute to mental health awareness and facilitate vulnerable individuals before it is too late.

Scroll to Top