إصابات الولادة

كيفية منع الإصابات المتعلقة بالولادة?

إن إدخال حياة جديدة في هذا العالم ليس بالأمر السهل بالنسبة للمرأة. عليها أن تتحمل قدرًا هائلاً من النضال والألم للوصول إلى فرحة أن تصبح أماً. ومع ذلك, يمكن أن تتحول السعادة الهائلة بسرعة إلى ضائقة إذا ظهرت مضاعفات أثناء العملية وتعرض المولود لبعض الإصابات المرتبطة بالولادة.

Birth Related Injuries

الإصابة المرتبطة بالولادة هي إصابة تحدث بسبب إجهاد المخاض والولادة أثناء الولادة. السبب المعتاد هو ضغط عملية الولادة على الطفل. ولكن هناك أسباب أخرى مثل:

  • الحرمان من الأوكسجين
  • الصدمة من أثر الولادة
  • الولادة المبكرة
  • إهمال طبي
  • مشاكل الحبل السري

والخبر السار هو أن الإجراءات المتعلقة بالولادة قد تقدمت إلى درجة تكون فيها فرص إصابة المولود الجديد نادرة. ومع ذلك, لم يسمع بهم بعد. تلتئم معظم الإصابات الطفيفة دون الحاجة إلى أي علاج أولي. ولكن هناك بعض الحالات الشديدة التي تتطلب مساعدة طبية فورية. هناك أيضًا بعض الحالات التي لا يوجد فيها علاج لإصابة مرتبطة بالولادة, يؤدي إلى إعاقة وصدمة مدى الحياة للطفل ووالديه. تشمل بعض الإصابات الأكثر شيوعًا المتعلقة بالولادة وغيرها من المشكلات المتعلقة بالصحة تلف الدماغ, الشلل الدماغي, اليرقان عند الأطفال حديثي الولادة, إصابات الحبل الشوكي, ورم رأسي, إلخ. لكن بعض الإجراءات والبروتوكولات يمكن أن تساعد في منع مثل هذه الإصابات. هم انهم:

الرعاية المناسبة قبل الولادة

في حين أن مشاكل الصحة الوراثية أمر لا مفر منه, يمكن أن تساعد الرعاية الأبوية المناسبة أثناء الحمل في تجنب العديد من المشكلات مثل الشلل الدماغي. يحدث الشلل الدماغي نتيجة لنمو الدماغ غير الكافي في الرحم أو تلف الدماغ أثناء الولادة. يمكن أن يسبب تأخير في النمو وكذلك نقص في التحكم في العضلات والكلام. تستطيعقراءة المزيد حول أنواع لتحديد الطرق الاحترازية المناسبة لمثل هذه الإصابة. إحدى هذه الطرق الوقائية هي الرعاية الجيدة قبل الولادة. من خلال السيطرة على الحالات الطبية الأساسية مثل مرض السكري, مشاكل ضغط الدم, إلخ, النساء الحوامل يمكن تجنب الأزمة إلى حد كبير. يجب على الأم أيضًا تجنب التعرض للفيروسات والعدوى وطلب المساعدة الطبية الفورية في أي حالة أثناء الحمل لأنها قد تؤثر على نمو دماغ الطفل الذي لم يولد بعد..

كشف ومعالجة علامات الضائقة الجنينية

من الضروري البحث عن علامات الضائقة الجنينية أثناء الحمل وعملية الولادة. في حالة وجود أي خلل, عالج المشكلة على الفور واطلب المساعدة الطبية. بينما يقوم الأطباء بمراقبة الأم والطفل خلال الثلث من الحمل, يمكن أن تحدث هذه المضاعفات أيضًا أثناء المخاض. تتضمن بعض العلامات والأعراض الشائعة المقلقة.

بعض الأعراض التي يجب البحث عنها هي:

  • قلة الحركة عند الطفل
  • معدل ضربات القلب غير الطبيعي للأم أو الطفل
  • حجم سائل غير طبيعي
  • السمات الجسدية غير الطبيعية
  • تشنجات
  • نزيف مهبلي
  • فقدان الوزن أو زيادة الوزن المفرطة للأم

في حالة غير محتملة أن تتعرض المرأة لواحد أو مجموعة من هذه, من الأفضل الاتصال بالطبيب على الفور لمنع حدوث مشاكل مستقبلية لكل من الطفل والأم.

منع الولادة المبكرة وتقليل المخاطر

سبب خطورة الولادة المبكرة هو أن الطفل يعاني من ضعف في جهاز المناعة وأعضاء متخلفة. تزيد هذه العوامل من خطر الإصابات المرتبطة بالولادة وتلف الدماغ للرضيع. ولكن هناك بعض الإجراءات الطبية التي يمكن أن تساعد في تجنب الولادة المبكرة. وتشمل هذه:

  • تطويق عنق الرحم: غرز مؤقتة لإبقاء عنق الرحم مغلقًا حتى يصبح الطفل جاهزًا للولادة
  • حقن البروجسترون لتنظيم / التحكم في المخاض
  • جرعة كبريتات المغنيسيوم للولادة المبكرة

ومع ذلك, هناك بعض الحالات التي تكون فيها الولادة المبكرة أمرًا لا مفر منه أو حتى ضروريًا. يقوم المهنيون الطبيون بإدارة هرمونات معينة, أملاح, والأدوية لتفادي المخاض المبكر ونمو الأعضاء المتسارع للطفل في مثل هذه الحالات. هذه الأساليب الوقائية مفضلة لتقليل فرص ولادة طفل بأعضاء متخلفة وتقليل تلف الدماغ أثناء الولادة.

فهم موعد الانسحاب من التسليم العادي

هناك حالات معينة عندما تكون الولادة المهبلية غير ممكنة أو خطرة على الطفل والأم. في هذه الحالة, تصبح الولادة القيصرية ضرورية لتجنب الوفاة. في أكثر الظروف شيوعًا, يختار الأطباء إجراء ولادة قيصرية إذا كان وزن الطفل أكبر من 11 جنيه أو رطل للوزن. هذا الطريق مفضل أيضًا إذا كانت الأم مصابة بمرض السكري إذا كان وزن الطفل 10 جنيه وما فوق. المضاعفات الأخرى التي تؤدي إلى الولادة القيصرية هي:

  • العمل لفترات طويلة
  • ضغط الحبل السري
  • ضيق الجنين
  • تمزق الرحم
  • عدوى الأم
  • عملقة

إذا واجه الطفل أو الأم هذه المشاكل, ثم من الضروري إجراء ولادة قيصرية. في حالات كهذه, يمكن للولادة المهبلية وغيرها من الأساليب الأقل توغلًا أن تطيل من مخاطر الإصابات المرتبطة بالولادة. لذلك كلما ظهرت مثل هذه التعقيدات, يجب على الوالدين التفكير بعناية في فوائد ومخاطر كل تقنية قبل اتخاذ خيار مناسب.

توفير الرعاية المناسبة في NICU

وحدة العناية المركزة لحديثي الولادة (NICU) هي وحدة محددة تساعد في رعاية الأطفال, خاصة أولئك الذين يعانون من إصابات مرتبطة بالولادة ومضاعفات الولادة المبكرة. لأن الطفل يكون أكثر هشاشة في مثل هذه الحالة, يجب على الآباء والأخصائيين الطبيين توفير الرعاية المناسبة لمنع تفاقم الضرر. فقط بعد استقرار العناصر الحيوية لحديثي الولادة يجب تصريفه من المرفق.

استنتاج

الحمل والولادة لا يقلان عن معجزة. ومع ذلك, يجب على الوالدين ممارسة أقصى درجات الحذر أثناء فترة الحمل واتخاذ الخيارات التي تساعد على تجنب المشاكل المتعلقة بالولادة للأم والطفل. من ناحية أخرى, من الضروري أيضًا اختيار أفضل مساعدة طبية ممكنة لأن الأخطاء يمكن أن تؤدي إلى خطورة, مواقف تغير الحياة. سوء التصرف الطبي, خطأ في التشخيص, ونقص الرعاية يمكن أن يؤدي إلى إصابات متعلقة بالولادة ومضاعفات الولادة. في النهاية, ومن الأفضل دائما أن يكون آمنا من آسف.

انتقل إلى أعلى

How To Prevent Birth Related Injuries?

- Advertisement -

Bringing a new life into this world is no easy feat for a woman. She has to endure a tremendous amount of struggle and pain to reach the joy of becoming a parent. However, immense happiness can also quickly turn into distress if complications arise during the process and the newborn experiences some birth-related injury.

Birth Related Injuries
- Advertisement -

A birth-related injury is an injury that occurs due to the stress of labor and delivery during childbirth. The usual cause is the pressure of the birthing process on the child. But there are other reasons too such as:

  • Oxygen deprivation
  • Trauma from delivery impact
  • Premature birth
  • Medical negligence
  • Umbilical cord problems
- Advertisement -

The good news is that birth-related procedures have advanced to a point where a newborn’s chances of incurring an injury are rare. However, they are still not unheard of. Most of the minor injuries heal without needing any primary treatment. But there are some severe cases when immediate medical assistance is required. There are also some cases when there is no cure for a birth-related injury, resulting in life-long disability and trauma for the child and its parents. Some of the most common birth-related injuries and other health-related issues include brain damage, cerebral palsy, newborn jaundice, spinal cord injuries, cephalohematoma, etc. But some procedures and protocols can help in preventing such injuries. They are:

Proper prenatal care 

While genetic health problems are inevitable, proper parental care during pregnancy can help avoid many problems such as cerebral palsy. Cerebral palsy is a result of inadequate brain development in the womb or brain damage during childbirth. It can cause delays in growth as well as a lack of muscle and speech control. You can read more about the types to determine the proper precautionary methods for such an injury. One of these preventative methods is good prenatal care. By controlling underlying medical conditions such as diabetes, blood pressure problems, etc., pregnant women can avert the crisis considerably. A mother should also avoid exposure to viruses and infections and seek immediate medical help in any situation during pregnancy as these may affect the unborn child’s brain development.

Detecting and addressing signs of fetal distress

- Advertisement -

It is essential to look out for signs of fetal distress during pregnancy and the childbirth process. In case of any abnormality, address the problem immediately and seek medical help. While medical professionals monitor the mother and the baby during her trimesters, these complications can also occur during the labor. Some common alarming signs and symptoms include.

Some symptoms to look out for are:

  • Decreased movement in the baby 
  • Abnormal heart rate of the mother or child 
  • Abnormal fluid volume 
  • Abnormal physical features
  • Cramps 
  • Vaginal bleeding 
  • Weight loss or extreme weight gain of the mother

In the unlikely event that women experience one or a combination of these, it is best to immediately reach out to a doctor to prevent future problems for both the child and the mother.

Preventing premature birth and minimizing risks

The reason premature birth is dangerous is that a child has a weak immune system and underdeveloped organs. Such factors increase the risk of birth-related injuries and brain damage to the infant. But there are a few medical procedures that can help in avoiding premature birth. These includes:

  • Cervical cerclage: temporary stitches to keep the cervix closed until the baby is ready for delivery
  • Progesterone injections to regulate/control the labor
  • Magnesium sulfate dosage to premature labor

However, there are some cases where premature birth is inevitable or even necessary. Medical professionals administer certain hormones, salts, and medicines to avoid early labor and accelerated organ development of the child in such cases. These preventive methods are preferable to reduce the chances of delivering a child with underdeveloped organs and reduce brain damage during the delivery. 

Understanding when to opt-out of a normal delivery

There are certain instances when vaginal delivery is not possible or dangerous for the child and the mother. In this case, a C-section becomes necessary to avoid a fatality. In the most typical conditions, doctors opt for a C-section if the child weighs more than 11 pounds. This route is also preferable if the mother has diabetes if the baby weighs 10 pounds and above. Other complications that lead to C-section deliveries are:

  • Prolonged labor 
  • Umbilical cord compression 
  • Fetal distress
  • Uterine rupture
  • Maternal infection 
  • Macrosomia

If the baby or the mother faces these problems, then a C-section is necessary. In such cases, vaginal delivery and other less invasive methods can prolong the risks of birth-related injuries. So whenever such complications arise, parents must carefully consider the benefits and risks of each technique before making a convenient choice.

Providing proper care in NICU

The Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU) is a specific unit that assists in caring for babies, especially those that suffer from birth-related injuries and premature birth complications. As the baby is most fragile in such a condition, parents and medical professionals must provide proper care to prevent the damage from worsening. Only after the newborn’s vitals are stable should it be discharged from the facility.

Conclusion 

Pregnancy and childbirth are no less than a miracle. Nonetheless, parents must practice utmost care during the pregnancy period and make choices that help avoid birth-related problems for the mother and child. On the other hand, it is equally necessary to choose the best medical assistance possible because mistakes can lead to dangerous, life-altering situations. Medical malpractice, misdiagnosis, and lack of care can result in birth-related injuries and childbirth complications. Eventually, it is always better to be safe than sorry.

Related Articles

ED is much Beyond a Sexual Disorder

Erectile Dysfunction or simply ED is making men underperform on the...

Same Category

ED is much Beyond a Sexual Disorder

Erectile Dysfunction or simply ED is making men underperform...

8 Healthy Hobbies That Will Help You Burn Fat

A sedentary lifestyle has contributed to declining health among...